Sun Songs and Crystal Turkeys

debris in the way Today was one of those perfect mountain days that needed to be spent outside. I recently made a commitment to meditate daily, for at least ten minutes, as well as spend quality, outdoor time with the pooches. With that in mind, I drove to a little known spot called ‘Bulldog Canyon’. Coincidentally only a kilometer from my destination, the road was closed, taken over by large amounts of impassable debris. There were plenty of lovely places I could have turned around to but I was a girl on a mission as I felt a certain calling to continue onward.

We always end up exactly where we’re meant to be.

Sun Song
I didn’t make it to the canyon but found a lovely outcrop of rocks overlooking the lake where the sun was bright. I have a ‘go to’ meditation where you visualize a ball of light in the center of your heart chakra. You allow it to fill that space and then expand the light to fill your body, your immediate surroundings, the town, and then send it out to the world. It’s really a beautiful practice, both simple and fulfilling and that’s where I headed today as I settled in. I quickly realized however, that the sun shone so brightly that my black jacket soon burnt; I saw this as a gift. The light was going to fill me from the outside-in today instead of my having to produce it myself. Honestly, it was a bit of a relief. Lately, I’ve been feeling like I spend a lot of time carrying the light without much outside assistance. This was the universe’s way of reminding me it’s always there to light my way and I’m not in it alone. Sometimes, it’s just a matter of going outdoors to remember this-  a matter of humility.

With that, I was able to shift my attention. It’s said that prayer is you talking to God(dess) while meditation is listening. What came about today was combination of both. My favorite thing to do in nature is isolate the different sounds, allowing yourself to  absorb without analysis. It’s a process of recognition and release. There were several kinds of birds going about a variety of business. My two dogs rustled about adventuring and wreaking innocent havoc on our surroundings. The squirrels they chased scampered and shouted at them.

As I continued to settle in, I could hear the far off creek that had been our intended destination while the soft thundering of a waterfall across the lake revealed itself. There wasn’t a scrap of breeze so the trees didn’t share their secrets with me today, but within that was a sound I’d never heard before. It was music and I knew somehow that it was coming from the sun. Maybe angels, or other beings of light were singing to me. Maybe it’s just the sound the the sun/light-source makes. Whatever it was, within my silence I found something brand new (to me) that wasn’t at all FROM me.

Another gift and another reminder to reach out in this immense universe as it will always provide…

With music in my ears, I shifted from meditation to prayer. “Forgive me God for forgetting you.”- a prayer given to us by Reno, at my recent yoga teacher training. She knows what I need so I didn’t feel the need to state requests. I simple asked for forgiveness and offered gratitude as it is what felt right at the time. Because here’s the thing, regardless of what you’ve been told, there’s no wrong way to connect to your creator. If you are not causing harm and are working from a place of love (humility is also a good goal), then you are doing it right. For real.

The sun went behind a cloud and I knew it was time to open my eyes. I’d brought my animal medicine cards with me for additional teachings and pulled Turkey. I’ve had these cards quite a while now and use them very regularly but have never before pulled Turkey. They always surprise me. 

Turkey Medicine is a Gift

Turkey medicine is: ‘Give-Away’. It is  the recognition that your individual well-being is tied up to that of the whole and the willingness to offer what you have to make that possible- even if it means going without. Authors Jamie Sams and David Carson writes about Turkey, “You have transcended self. You act and react on the behalf of others. You aspire to help those who need help. This is not out of some sense of self-righteous moralism or religious guild. Help an sustenance and given by Turkey out of the realization that all life is sacred. It is an acknowledgement that what you do for others you do for yourself.”

I’ve been struggling for months on how to deal with growing strife between myself and an individual who had once played a huge role in my life. Recently, I’d decided to write a letter but had been struggling with how I intended to go about this. I was questioning my approach and as always, the animals gave me the guidance I needed. My self-doubt cleared and I knew I was on the right path regardless of the aftermath.

Nature's Gifts
Turkey also tells you a gift is coming and as I looked to the ground for the first time since arriving, I realized that I was surrounded by beautiful crystals! One had initially caught my eye and as I dug it from the ground I was immediately drawn to its vibration. I gathered several others and got acquainted with them as well but in the end, decided the original was the only one I needed. I love working with raw stones found at their source. Their only fingerprints are your own and our Mother’s and they vibrate at such a unique frequency.

Settling inI often use crystals when giving readings or Reiki but I knew that this particular crystal was meant for me alone. Along with Turkey and the Sun Song, it was among my many gifts of the day- offerings to assist me on my path. As I headed back to my car, I projected my gratitude with excitement of the teachings to come.

From my heart to yours, Jenn

Leave a Reply

